Monday, April 22, 2024

Players meet Nazmul over transfer

A group of senior national cricketers met Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan at his Beximco office on Monday requesting him to scrap the provision of players’ by choice for the Dhaka Premier League transfer. The group includes national captain Mashrafee bin Murtaza, Test skipper Mushfiqur Rahim, batsman Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, spinner Arafat Sunny.

HC stays BFF fine on Arambagh for 3 months

The High Court on Monday stayed for three months a decision of Bangladesh Football Federation that fined Arambagh Krira Sangha Tk 30 lakh over their involvement in vandalising in the federation office on December 22. A bench of Justice Zubayer Rahman Chowdhury and Justice Md Khasruzzaman also issued a rule on the BFF and the authorities ... Read more

Footballers’ commitment questioned

With the Bangabandhu Cup football just around the corner, the Bangladesh Football Federation appeared helpless despite players’ commitment to the national team was called into question. A total of 12 national players, including captain Mamunul Islam, played an unauthorised match at Narayanganj on Sunday, days before the tournament that is

Tigers for fresh blood in Zimbabwe series

Bangladesh may experiment with their squad in the forthcoming home series against Zimbabwe ahead of the busy international fixture, said selectors on Sunday. The Tigers are all but certain to play four Twenty20 Internationals against Zimbabwe from January 14 to 20 in Sylhet as part of their preparation for the Asia Cup

Footballers at it again!

If everything had gone according to plan, members of Bangladesh football team would have been playing the SAFF Suzuki Cup final in Trivandrum on Sunday. Instead, some of them were found playing an unauthorised football match in Narayanganaj at the same day. A group of national players, including captain Mamunul Islam, played the match flouting the ... Read more

India regain SAFF title

Hosts India came from behind to beat Afghanistan 2-1 in the final of the SAFF Suzuki Cup 2015 at the Trivandrum International Stadium in Kerala to regain the title on Sunday. Skipper Sunil Chettri’s 110th minute extra-time goal proved to be enough for India to lift the SAFF Championship title for the record seventh time.

Tigers to play four T20s against Zim

Bangladesh will play four Twenty20 internationals against Zimbabwe at Sylhet in the upcoming home series from January 14, said Bangladesh Cricket Board officials on Saturday. The visitors are expected to arrive on January 11 for the series before moving to Sylhet for the series that is expected to help both the teams to prepare for

Bangladesh to host 2017 SAFF Championship

Bangladesh have been awarded with the 2017 SAFF Championship at an executive committee meeting held in Kerela, India on Saturday. In the meeting, Bangladesh were also honoured with the inaugural Club Cup Championship to be held later this year. India were awarded to host SAFF Women’s Championship in August-September this year

Ameli, Mithun, Rana recalled for Bangabandhu Gold Cup

Striking duo Zahid Hasan Ameli, Mithun Chowdhury and midfielder Alamgir Rana were recalled to the national fold ahead of the Bangabandhu Gold Cup, beginning on January 8. The troika will join the 20-member squad that recently played in the SAFF Suzuki Cup in India as the players will leave Dhaka for Jessore today.

Chayan, Rana axed from SA Games squad

National hockey team coach Mahbub Harun selected his 18-man final squad for the forthcoming South Asian Games on Saturday without experienced penalty-corner specialist Mamunur Rahman Chayan and midfielder Kamruzzaman Rana. Chayan was dropped from the side for his lack of fitness and poor performance in the practice sessions while Rana was excluded due