Monday, April 15, 2024

BPL names seven franchisees for the next three editions

Sports Desk : The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 Governing Council has asked seven companies to complete the process of acquiring franchise ownership for the next three (9th, 10th and 11th) editions of the league on Sunday, according to a press release from the Bangladesh Cricket Board. Although there were rumours, two of the ... Read more

Amir among Pakistanis listed for BPL

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who served out a five-year ban for his part in spot-fixing scandal, is among 51 Pakistani cricketers listed for the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 tournament, said an official on Friday. Amir completed his ban in September and has already made a return to competitive cricket, taking 27 wickets in last

BCB names 6 BPL franchises

The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Wednesday confirmed six franchises for the third edition of the Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 tournament, which gets underway from November 24. Eastern city Comilla will join Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet, Rangpur and Barisal for the event that will resume after a gap of two years. The BCB excluded Rajshahi and

Doping rules set for domestic debut

The Bangladesh Cricket Board is all set to introduce domestic anti-doping code in the upcoming edition of Bangladesh Premier League, bringing all local players under its purview for the first time in a bid to create a doping free environment in domestic cricket. The domestic anti-doping code’s amended version will be placed in the next board ... Read more

Jamal look for more success

Bangladesh Premier League champions Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club promised to retain their squad that gave phenomenal success domestically and internationally as the club eye more glory during the forthcoming season. In addition to winning the domestic league title, Jamal also qualified for the AFC Cup play-offs which earned them plaudits from many corners

Jamal end season on a high

The curtain of the eighth Bangladesh Premier League fell on Saturday with champions Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club defeating Abahnai Limited by 2-1 at the Bangabandhu National Stadium. Jamal came from a goal behind to earn all three points and amassed 51 points from their slotted 20 matches. Nasirul Islam Nasir put Abahani ahead

BPL bidders told to give pay-order by Aug 30

Companies that have submitted Expression of Interest to own a franchise of the Bangladesh Premier League have been asked to submit their pay-order and bank guarantee by August 30, said the Bangladesh Cricket Board officials on Thursday. The BCB on August 18 announced that 11 companies have shown their interest to own a franchise of BPL, ... Read more

Bid for BPL teams lures 11 cos

A total of 11 new companies have submitted their bid to own a franchise of the Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 tournament, said Bangladesh Cricket Board on Tuesday. The BCB said they will now evaluate the bids before selecting five to seven teams for the tournament, which will be resumed in November after two years.

Lukewarm response in BPL bidding

The Bangladesh Cricket Board so far received a lukewarm response from the potential bidders of new Bangladesh Premier League franchise as only two corporate houses have submitted their expression of interest. The bidding will be completed for six new franchises and the BCB expects to get multiple bidding on the final day. Sources inside the BCB said

Battle for runners-up spot in BPL heats up

With Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club already assured of title, three teams are in contention for runners-up position in the Bangladesh Premier League that can be decided today. Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra will be the frontrunner to take the honour when they take on Rahmatganj MFS in today’s first match before the