Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Comilla wins its fourth BPL title

Sports Desk : Powered by an unbeaten 52-ball 79 from Johnson Charles, Comilla Victorians won a record-extending fourth Bangladesh Premier League title as they secured a seven-wicket victory against Sylhet Strikers in the final at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium yesterday. Liton Das had set the tone for Comilla as they began chase of a ... Read more

BPL names seven franchisees for the next three editions

Sports Desk : The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 Governing Council has asked seven companies to complete the process of acquiring franchise ownership for the next three (9th, 10th and 11th) editions of the league on Sunday, according to a press release from the Bangladesh Cricket Board. Although there were rumours, two of the ... Read more

Comilla win hat-trick BPL title

Comilla Victorians won their hat-trick title in the Bangladesh Premier League with a one-run win in a thrilling final against Fortune Barishal at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Friday. Defending ten runs off the last over and three off the last ball, Comilla’s pacer Shohidul Islam pulled off a successful one as Barishal ... Read more

Mahmudullah, Russell end Dhaka’s losing streak

Mahmudullah played a captain’s knock while Andre Russell played a whirlwind innings to guide Minister Group Dhaka to a four-wicket win over Fortune Barishal at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Monday, their first win in the eighth Bangladesh Premier League after two defeats. Mahmudullah made a run-a-ball 47 while Russell smashed an

Khulna win high-scoring contest against Dhaka

Rony Talukdar’s brilliant half-century and two bludgeoning knocks from Andre Fletcher and Thisara Perera at either ends of the innings catapulted Khulna Tigers to a five-wicket win over Minister Group Dhaka in the evening match on the opening day of the eighth Bangladesh Premier League on Friday. Rony made 61 off 42 balls, Fletcher struck ... Read more

Fresh controversy hits BPL

The new edition of the Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 tournament stroked its first controversy when authorities allowed the franchises to hire some international cricketers beyond the official process. The BPL governing council on Wednesday named 122 local and 196 international cricketers, who will be picked by six franchises through a recruitment process

BPL bidders told to give pay-order by Aug 30

Companies that have submitted Expression of Interest to own a franchise of the Bangladesh Premier League have been asked to submit their pay-order and bank guarantee by August 30, said the Bangladesh Cricket Board officials on Thursday. The BCB on August 18 announced that 11 companies have shown their interest to own a franchise of BPL, ... Read more

Bid for BPL teams lures 11 cos

A total of 11 new companies have submitted their bid to own a franchise of the Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 tournament, said Bangladesh Cricket Board on Tuesday. The BCB said they will now evaluate the bids before selecting five to seven teams for the tournament, which will be resumed in November after two years.

Lukewarm response in BPL bidding

The Bangladesh Cricket Board so far received a lukewarm response from the potential bidders of new Bangladesh Premier League franchise as only two corporate houses have submitted their expression of interest. The bidding will be completed for six new franchises and the BCB expects to get multiple bidding on the final day. Sources inside the BCB said

Complete overhaul of BPL planned

Bangladesh Cricket Board is planning to introduce the ‘players by choice’ system for the upcoming third edition of Bangladesh Premier League instead of traditional players’ auction, officials said on Sunday. The new edition of BPL is scheduled to be held from November 22 to December 15 after two years gap. The BCB also planned to ... Read more

Rain washes away BPL matches

Due to heavy downpour the two matches of the Bangladesh Premier League were abandoned on Friday. The first match at the Bangabandhu National Stadium between Mohammedan Sporting Club and Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society started at 4:45pm but it was stopped after just seven minutes. The surface became so unplayable that match couldn’t be resumed.